Day 1 – My Ultra Journey

I’m going ultra. I’ve decided to run a 50 mile ultramarathon. Have not picked a time or location yet. Could be this fall, winter or next spring. Going to keep track of my progress here and what I learn along the way.

Been thinking about this for about a year, maybe more.

Read The Long Run by Mishka Shubaly and Eat & Run by Scott Jurek. Now I’ve started looking at http://www.ultramarathonrunning.com for training tips and plans and race schedules. Shoes, gear, eating….a lot to learn.

Better shut up and go run.

I’m in McKinney, TX for work Monday through Wednesday this week and today and went out for an 8 mile run. I was thinking about doing mile intervals at 10K pace, but changed to a slower tempo run. Started out with a 2 mile warm up at about an 8 min pace. Pushed up the pace for mile 3 and ran a pretty consistent 7:10 pace for 4 miles. It was warm, about 75 degrees and pretty humid. I was seriously bonking during mile 7 but regained my composure and cruised in during mile 8. Overall not thrilled with the run. I took Tuesday off so I was expecting more pop in my stride today. I get another chance to prove myself tomorrow.

Traveling to Rochester, Minnesota this evening so my next four runs will be in Minnesota. Then Sunday morning I fly to Salt Lake City and will be there until Wednesday so I will get some runs in at altitude. Looking forward to the next week of running in new places. I’ll be blogging and posting to Instagram as I go.

