Day 6 – My Ultra Journey

Sunrise Over the Mountains east of Salt Lake City

Sunrise Over the Mountains east of Salt Lake City

Two puny little easy miles this morning. Snapped this pic of the sunrise coming up over the mountains to the East of Salt Lake City. Stomach issues this morning which made for an interesting last half mile back to the hotel. Didn’t cut the run short due to my stomach though. Only doing two miles is part of my half marathon taper for the Hotter Than Hades Half Marathon this weekend. I plan to do some speed work in the morning, 8 x 400 intervals and keep the total mileage below 6. Then it’s easy miles Wednesday and Thursday and rest on Friday.

Tapering is stressful, because I want to go for a long run. I keep reminding myself of the goal to PR this weekend and focus on the planned splits to keep myself from overdoing it.

Anyone got any advice on how to cool your jets during a taper?

