My Ultra Journey – Day 12

Big Butts BBQ Sauce

Big Butts BBQ Sauce

Familiar Sight During Big Butts

Familiar Sight During Big Butts

Start/Finish Chute

Start/Finish Chute

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 easy miles Sunday morning in heat in the high 70’s to low 80’s. Quads are stiff and a little sore from the Hotter Than Hades Half Marathon this past Saturday. Trying to get in more slow miles in the heat. I was studying past race results for my upcoming 50k, the Big Butts 50k at Butts Park in Clinton, MS. This is my first ultra and after my debacle with pacing in the heat at the Hotter Than Hades, I really need to have a better plan. I was surprised to see that the pace was so slow. Last years winner came in at 5:13 which is over a 10 minute pace. I was thinking I would run something in the 9’s. Ha! Rethinking my race schedule now. The course is 5 loops on a 6 mile circuit in the woods with a 1 mile out and back to get to 31 miles. Pacers are not specifically prohibited and this is a small race, so I am planning on having two different people run with me on the last two laps.

I’ve completed 9 marathons, 8 of the 9 at a 9 minute pace or less and the last two were 8:15 paces. A 10 minute pace just seems ridiculously slow. Next weekend I am headed to Butts Park for a 16 mile training run where I will get a better feel for the race day demands. Plan to start the training run at 8am just like the race. That’s one advantage of living 25 minutes from the race.

