How I Treat Tendinitis of the Foot

image

That’s My Foot on Ice

Time to own up to this: For the first time in a long time, I have an injury.

Note: I am not a doctor. This is not medical advice. Rather it is a description of what I do to myself. I’m not promising you any results if you do what I do.

My normal routine with injuries is as follows.

1. I notice something hurts, but hey, I’m 47 years old, things hurt.

2. After some time I notice it hurts in the same place, when I do the same activity, every time. This can take a day, or a week or maybe weeks to convince me that somethings amiss.

3. If I get up the next day and it hurts right out of bed, I go for a run. If it stops hurting while I run, then I figure I can run and treat the injury and it will heal without changing my training.

4. If it hurts while running but I can live with the pain, I modify my training to ease up on the injury and treat the injury.

5. If I can’t run with the pain, then it’s time to take some time off from running and treat the injury.

I’ve had some tendinitis in my right ankle/foot for about 6 weeks now. It’s sore when I wake up but has not been hurting while I run. On days after hard workouts like hill repeats, it hurts more. Yesterday I did 8 x 0.2 mile hill repeats in Azalea Trails (very steep hills) and a total of about 5.5 miles. Today it was sensitive when I woke up and I felt it through out the day. I was on my feet a lot today at a fundraiser for the local animal rescue shelter and then at our neighborhood association summer picnic. It stayed sore all day. So I’ve decided if I don’t do something I could end up sidelined and I want to avoid that. Marathon training season is weeks away.

After six weeks of working around this thing I iced it for the first time today. I’ll be working in four or five icings a day for the next couple of weeks but I don’t plan on changing my workout routine and we’ll see how it goes. When I’m icing, this is what I do.

1. I use  one of three types of ice packs: bag of ice with water, homemade flexible ice pack (2 parts water, 1 part rubbing alcohol frozen in a doubled quart size freezer bag), store bought flexible ice pack if we have one.

2. Pre-wrap the area with foam pre-wrap or a thin towel or t-shirt to avoid direct contact with skin.

3. Hold the ice pack in place with an ace bandage.

4. Ice for ten minutes four or five times a day. Typical schedule: Morning – during drive to work, Lunch – this can be a bit awkward at work, Evening, Before bed

Usually I respond well to icing without using any drugs like Non-Steroid Anti-inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs). I use them as a last resort only, not because I’m that much of a naturalist or anything. There are side affects and I’d rather not deal with those unless I absolutely have to. In most cases I can fix these problems without them.

One of the popular teachings on treating injuries is the acronym RICEN, which stands for Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation and NSAIDS. I prefer to go with Ice, Elevation and Stretching which is IES which does not stand for anything.  Maybe It’s Easy Stupid!

