Weekly Review – Week Ending 9/20/2013

Colin presents "The Cremation of Sam McGee" by the bonfire.

Colin presents “The Cremation of Sam McGee” by the bonfire.

There are strange things done in the midnight sun by the men who moil for gold; from The Cremation of Sam McGee, by Robert W. Service

Couple of changes to the format this week. That’s why this report is out a little later than normal. Well, that and I was having a little trouble with my pivot table report, but I got it worked out.

Format change #1 – Moved the data table closer to the top.
Format change #2 – Adding some thoughts on the analysis of the data table and what it means. Maybe discussion about changes to goals as a result of the data.

Time Tracking Data Week Ending 9-20-13

Goals – It’s hard to keep work within limits when you have to travel, but I generally make good use of the travel time. Sleep has been going pretty well lately, averaging only slightly above my goal.

Top 5 – Beyond sleep and work, personal routines was next with 1.67 hours per day. This is an interesting category that has some built in variability because of the way I include meals in it. I will define the types of meals to show you what I mean.

Eating at home; Personal – Routines
Eating out with family; Discretionary – Family
Eating out by myself while on work related travel; Personal – Routines
Eating out with coworkers or friends while on work related travel; either Business – Connect or Discretionary – Social

So with travel where I ate out at least a few times by myself, which adds to Personal – Routines.

Other observations on the Top 5 include the nearly 10 hours spent learning German. I’ve been wondering why the now several week long fascination with brushing up on my German has continued. I think it’s a combination of a lack of intellectual stimulation in other areas of my life. Learning something challenging fills that gap.

Finally, Personal – Run has been on the rise for two reasons. Marathon training is picking up so my miles and hence my time has increased. The other reason is I am participating in more group runs or trail runs when I can which means driving somewhere first, waiting for others to arrive and some social chatting after the run. I count all of that time, including the drive back home, as part of the Personal – Run. So I expect that category to continue to gradually increase over the next several months.

Other things to note: College football is back. My TV watching time is generally less than an hour a week, but for the next few months it will be about 4 to 5 hours per week while I watch my Texas A&M Aggies and Johnny Manziel make a run at all kinds of history.

On to the summary.

Blog Posts This Week – Personal (1), links follow. Work (0)

Weekly Review – Week Ending 9/13/2013

Accomplishments for this week

-Work

– CMMI Projects – Completed Integrated Work Management (IWM) for Tiered Accountability pilot project including a trip to Dallas to visit three Raytheon locations for benchmarking and debrief, I planned and facilitated the event and it turned out very well, big success

– Learn

– Still on my learning German this week. Still in the top 5.
– Using three tools to improve my German language skills. 1. VociTeach Android App. 2. http://www.Memrise.com 3. http://www.duolingo.com
– Also checked in with my Google+ German community a couple of times.

-Run

– Highlight of the week was a 14 mile negative split run with Mike and some of the Insane Tri group. I was planning on 7 at 8:45 pace and then 7 at 7:45 (marathon target pace). Ended up settling in to a 7:35 on the second 7 miles, 10 seconds under goal pace! Nice.

– Social

– Colin’s birthday party was a blast. That’s the bonfire picture above. Colin recited the entire poem The Cremation of Sam McGee to mine and everyone’s delight. Good stuff.
– Checking in on www.ninoff.com less frequently, but still interested in where this goes.
– Took advantage of travel last week to do some business social networking.

Goals and Plans for next week

– Work

– Stay engaged and keep from getting too frustrated with the velocity and direction of my work project.

– Learn

– Use VociTeach, Memrise and Duolingo for German language. Also spend time in Google+ German community posting and responding to posts.

– Run

– Get in a group run with Colin and Dave at Choctaw Trails. Could become a regular early Sunday routine, I hope.

– Social

– I’ll be in Dallas all week, so I’ll be building work networks during our CMMI project workshop.

 

